When Life Gives You Lemons…

Guest post from Rachael at “My Goals My Future”:

my goals, my future

BW when life gives you lemons

Right now the proverbial saying is resonating in my soul.  I could tell you why and how I currently feel like I have lemons in my life but the focus should be on moving forward.  I am contemplating if I want to make lemonade.

The phrase has an interesting history (if you can be bothered to Wikipedia it!) and I love this early poem: 

Life handed him a lemon,
As Life sometimes will do.
His friends looked on in pity,
Assuming he was through.
They came upon him later,
Reclining in the shade
In calm contentment, drinking
A glass of lemonade.

By Clarence Edwin Flynn, 1940, The Rotarian

It is strange how often in the moments we have a surplus of lemons rolling around that people tend to look on in pity, observing from the outskirts, sometimes whispering or simply walk away.  In those moments all we need is…

View original post 315 more words

Author: Steven Macek

I learnt a long time ago that in order to grow it is necessary to step outside one’s comfort zone. As a person who craves growth and change this has led me to continually seek out opportunities to make myself uncomfortable, whether physically, emotionally or psychologically. The (Dis)Comfort Zone blog is a vehicle for cataloging those experiences.

Leave a Reply

