Mount Macedon – 50km Preparation

Camel's Hump, Mount Macedon VIC

Next weekend (Sunday 11th) my buddy Thomas and I are entered in the Mt Macedon 50km trail run organised by TrailsPlus: http://www.trailsplus.com.au/macedon/ . For both of us this will be our first official ultra-marathon.

With that in mind I headed up to Macedon this morning for one last recce of the course. I was intending to explore the bottom 20km on the southern side of the mountain, as this is the section of the course that I am least familiar with. It also represents the final 20km of the race (30km – 50km). The last 2.5km sees an elevation gain of approximately 500m. Nice! That’s bound to be a fun finish next weekend.

So, after 3+ hrs of exploring some new trails, with plenty of missed turns (the course is not yet marked) and a few kms of backtracking, what did I find?

A packed car park:

DSC_0354

A downhill trail I could barely see:

DSC_0355

What goes down, must go up:

DSC_0357

Steps under the railway line:

DSC_0362

Wrong way. Go back:

DSC_0358

Another tunnel as I turn and head back towards the summit:

DSC_0360

With weather conditions being what they were (cold, wet) there was hardly anybody on the trails…so plenty of alone time in which to explore.

It will be a much different scene next weekend, with competitors tackling 10km, 30km and 50km events. I’m looking forward to seeing how the body holds up.

I’ll leave you with a scary thought:

In 5 months time we’re going to need to average 40+km a day.

For 6 days. In the desert. At altitude.

Cool.

Author: Steven Macek

I learnt a long time ago that in order to grow it is necessary to step outside one’s comfort zone. As a person who craves growth and change this has led me to continually seek out opportunities to make myself uncomfortable, whether physically, emotionally or psychologically. The (Dis)Comfort Zone blog is a vehicle for cataloging those experiences.

Leave a Reply

